en

Discover wild and authentic Crete with off-road motorbike or 4 X 4

INFOS

Navigation

We have produced all our Road Books with the Tripy and its RoadTracer Pro software. And so, to be autonomous, or to avoid getting lost, the best navigation system remains the Tripy GPS on which you will have all the notes from the Road Books. If you don't have one, you can rent one from Alain Spronck of AS-GPS (allow a hundred € for the duration of the Raid), otherwise, there are other but less complete possibilities:

  • The traditional paper road book (format 2 pages on A4)
  • The PDF road book usable on the mobile application or tablet "Cross country rally"
  • GPS tracks in the form of .gpx files that can be used on different GPS devices such as Garmin or on the "Outdooractive" mobile or tablet application. Attention, some GPS, modify the track during the reading...
  • For those who are not fans of the Road book, it is preferable to choose the formula 'accompanied by Yannis'.
Doc Fred in action
Doc Fred in action
Rapid assistance ... :-)
Rapid assistance ... :-)

Insurance

Repatriation insurance, such as 'Europ Assistance', is mandatory. And, since Crete is part of Europe, all the insurances of this type cover this magnificent island. Ask your broker

Baggage

For bikers, upon your arrival, we will take your luggage in charge and deposit them at the various hotels during the raid. We advise you to bring with you a backpack with your basic tools, water, ... and, if necessary, a bathing suit, bath towel, and a pair of sunglasses. Please note that for you to eat or drink in Crete, there are mini-markets and kafenions or taverns in all the villages except, if it is an abandoned or ruined village :-).

Lunch at the Agia Paraskevi tavern
Lunch at the Agia Paraskevi tavern

Housing

To stay, we privileged the authenticity and fled the big tourist zones. But it does not mean that you will stay on a roof under the stars as in the hippie era ... Yannis, knows better than anyone his island and you can trust him.

The rooms are sometimes scattered in the village of step, but never far from each other. They are all equipped with a private bathroom with WC and for the most demanding, there is always air conditioning in the room.

We will end the adventure in the beautiful village of Mochlos. This is the village where Yannis and Anne live. Marc and his wife Marie have been there for a good part of the year since they fell in love with the place.

Tripy also adaptable on a motorcycle
Tripy also adaptable on a motorcycle

Medical assistance

Except for last-minute unforeseen circumstances, medical assistance will be provided by our friend Dr. Frédéric Mathéi, who is an orthopaedist. In case of serious injury, Crete has good doctors and many hospitals.

Doc Fred
Doc Fred

Technical assistance

The Kriti Raid is not a competition, the stages are not too technical, nor too long (between 100 and 200Km), so take the time to discover this wonderful island.

In the event of a mechanical breakdown with the rental vehicles, the renters will intervene quickly. If it's your own bike, plan a minimum of spare parts and what to do with your basic maintenance. If necessary, we will have a mechanic who can intervene. For the 4 X 4 personal in Crete, there are many independent multi-brand garages.

For bikers who want to be autonomous, it is better to have a basic tool kit with what to repair a flat tire + a first aid kit.

And finally, note that Yannis or the organization's 4X4 will close the hike every day.

Yannis and his 4X4 broom ... :-)
Yannis and his 4X4 broom ... :-)

Lunch

All the stages are divided into 2 road books or routes and a stop in a typical tavern is therefore planned at the end of the 1st part. The price of the midday meal(+/- 20€ included starter, main course, dessert and drinks)i s not provided for in the registration, but often a kitty is organized by the participants. This kitty is also often used for the evening aperitif before supper :-)

Portela Apartments in Keratokampos
Portela Apartments in Keratokampos
From left to right: Marc, Anne, Marie and Yannis
From left to right: Marc, Anne, Marie and Yannis

Plane

For your flight, several airlines fly to Heraklion, usually from Brussels. If you decide, do not delay, because in September, we are still in tourist season ....

fr

A la découverte de la Crète sauvage et authentique en moto TT ou 4 X 4

INFOS

Navigation

Nous avons réalisés tous nos Road Books avec le Tripy et son logiciel RoadTracer Pro. Et donc, pour être autonome, ou bien éviter de se perdre, le meilleur système de navigation reste le GPS Tripy sur lequel vous aurez toutes les notes des Road Books.  Si vous n'en possédez pas un, il vous est possible d'en louer 1 à Alain Spronck de AS-GPS  (comptez une centaine d'€ pour toute la durée du Raid), sinon, il y a d'autres possibilités mais moins complètes:

Tripy adaptable aussi sur une moto
Tripy adaptable aussi sur une moto
  • Le traditionnel Road book papier (format 2 pages sur A4)
  • Le Road book PDF utilisable sur l'application mobile ou tablette  "Cross country rally" 
  • Les traces GPS sous formes de fichiers .gpx utilisable sur différents GPS comme Garmin ou sur l'application mobile ou tablette "Outdooractive". Attention, certains GPS, modifient la trace durant la lecture ...
  • Pour ceux qui ne sont pas adeptes du Road book, il est préférable de choisir la formule 'accompagné de Yannis'.
Doc Fred à l'action
Doc Fred à l'action
Assistance rapide ... :-)
Assistance rapide ... :-)

Assurance

Une assurance rapatriement, de type 'Europ Assistance', est obligatoire. Et, vu que la Crète fait partie de l'Europe, toutes les assurances de ce type couvrent cette île magnifique. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre courtier

Bagages

Pour les motards, dès votre arrivée, nous prendrons vos bagages en charge et les déposerons aux différents hôtels durant le raid. Nous vous conseillons d'emporter avec vous un sac à dos avec votre outillage de base, de l'eau, ..., et le cas échéant, un maillot , essuie de bain, et une paire de lunette de soleil. Notez bien, que pour vous restaurer ou vous désaltérer, en Crète, il y a dans tous les villages, des mini-markets et des kafénions ou tavernes sauf, si c'est un village abandonné ou en ruine :-).

Repas de midi à la taverne Agia Paraskevi
Repas de midi à la taverne Agia Paraskevi

Logement

Pour loger, nous avons privilégié l'authenticité et fui les grandes zones touristiques. Mais ce n'est pas pour autant que vous logerez sur un toit à la belle étoile comme au temps des hippies ... Yannis, connait mieux que quiconque son île et vous pouvez lui faire confiance.

Les chambres sont parfois dispersées dans le village d'étape, mais jamais bien loin les unes des autres. Elles sont toutes équipées d'une salle de bain privée avec WC et pour les plus exigents, il y a toujours une clim dans la chambre.

Nous terminerons l'aventure dans le superbe village de Mochlos. C'est le village où vivent Yannis et Anne. Marc et son épouse Marie y séjournent une bonne partie de l'année depuis qu'ils sont tombés amoureux de l'endroit. 

Assistance médicale

Sauf imprévu de dernière minute, une assistance médicale sera assurée par notre ami le Dr. Frédéric Mathéi qui est orthopédiste. En cas de blessure importante, la Crète dispose de bons médecins et de nombreux hôpitaux.

Doc Fred
Doc Fred

Assistance technique

Le Kriti Raid n'est pas une compétition, les étapes ne sont pas trop techniques, ni trop longues (entre 100 et 200Km), prenez donc le temps de découvrir cette merveilleuse île.

En cas de panne mécanique avec les véhicules de location, les loueurs interviendront rapidement. Si c'est votre propre moto, prévoyez un minimum de pièces de rechange et de quoi faire votre entretien de base. Le cas échéant, nous aurons un mécanicien qui pourra intervenir. Pour les 4 X 4 personnels, en Crète, il y a beaucoup de garagistes indépendants multimarques.

Pour les motards qui veulent être autonomes, il est préférable d'avoir une trousse d'outillage de base avec de quoi réparer un pneu crevé + une trousse de premiers soins.

Et enfin, notez bien que Yannis ou le 4X4 de l'organisation fermera tous les jours la rando.

Yannis et son 4X4 balai ... :-)
Yannis et son 4X4 balai ... :-)

Repas de midi

Toutes les étapes, sont divisées en 2 Road Books ou tracés et un arrêt dans une taverne typique est donc prévu à la fin de chaque 1ère partie. Le prix du repas de midi (+/- 20€ inclus entrée, plat, dessert et boissons) n'est pas prévu dans l'inscription, mais, souvent, une cagnotte est organisée par les participants.  Cette cagnotte sert aussi souvent pour l'apéro du soir avant le souper :-)

Appartements Portela à Keratokampos
Appartements Portela à Keratokampos
De gauche à droite: Marc, Anne, Marie et Yannis
De gauche à droite: Marc, Anne, Marie et Yannis

Avion

Pour votre vol, plusieurs compagnies aériennes desservent Héraklion, généralement au départ de Bruxelles. Si vous vous décidez, ne tardez pas, car en septembre, nous sommes encore en pleine saison touristique ... .